Virginia's drug laws are strict, and the penalties for breaking them can result in jail time and fines. If you have been charged with breaking one of these laws, then the smartest thing you can do is call a Fairfax drug crimes attorney now to talk to them about your circumstances.
People frequently are arrested for a drug crime involving a controlled substance based on a misunderstanding or simply by being in the wrong place at the wrong time. When this happens, your attorney can challenge the constitutional basis for why you were stopped or searched and can even challenge the lab results once the drugs are analyzed. Nonetheless, drug offenses that are categorized as controlled substances in Virginia can be misdemeanors or felonies. This means that they can stick to your record and make your life difficult for a long time if you are convicted. When you apply for jobs, clearances, housing, right to own or possess a firearm, voting rights, etc. these types of offenses will appear on your criminal record.
According to Virginia Code § 18.2-250, any person who knowingly or intentionally possesses a drug without a valid prescription may be breaking the law. Numerous factors may affect the charges the individual will face, such as the class of the controlled substance, the amount, the location in which the person was arrested, and the individual's prior criminal history.
Among the more frequent charges in Virginia are those relating to possession of a prescription drug without a prescription. This often occurs after an individual is given medication by a family member or friend or where people become addicted and try to buy drugs off the street to feed their addiction. Many people are surprised to learn that this type of possession can result in the same charges as those that are brought against a person who is caught with illegal narcotics.
People who are charged with possession of a controlled substance in Virginia may be facing a fine of a minimum of $250 for a misdemeanor up to 12 months in jail and a fine up to $2500.00. However, an individual who is convicted of possession of a Schedule I or Schedule II drug may spend up to 10 years in prison and/or have to pay a fine of up to $2,500 as this is a felony.
If you work with a Fairfax drug crimes attorney and are a first-time offender, your attorney will review your options for programs, pleas, or trial. Eligible individuals may enter a drug diversion program if they follow certain conditions such as completing community service, completing substance abuse treatment, submitting to random drug testing, and attending substance abuse education classes. If you complete everything successfully then your charge can be dismissed and you can avoid a conviction.
If you have been accused of a drug crime, then you need an experienced lawyer working on your case. Contact a Fairfax drug crimes attorney today at 703-940-0001.