Getting behind the wheel in the driver’s seat after you have been drinking, even if it was just a few, can result in receiving a DUI. It is always better to call a friend to pick you up than attempt to drive yourself somewhere. If you do find yourself in this problematic situation, here is what you need to know about being a first-time DUI offender below.
You Will Need an Attorney- Every DUI case is different which is why it is crucial that you hire a DUI attorney in Fairfax, VA, who can advocate on your behalf. You need a passionate attorney who understands how the court system works when it comes to DUIs because they will be the ones to navigate you through this process.
Financial Costs- In Virginia, a DUI can be a drain on your finances: fines, court costs, insurance, alcohol programs and treatment, towing/impound fees, ignition interlock, bond, etc.
Penalties- In Virginia, you can face jail up to 12 months on a misdemeanor DUI and up to 5 years on a felony (some of that jail time could be mandatory time), a fine up to $2,500.00, and a loss of your license for one year, 3 years, or indefinitely depending on whether it is your first offense or not.When you need a respected DUI attorney in Fairfax, VA, you can trust The Law Office of Ann Thayer to represent you during this challenging time. Call our law office at (703) 940-0001 to discuss legal representation with one of our attorneys.