Since July 1, 2020, the fine for reckless driving has increased in Virginia. According to House Bill 885/Senate Bill 63, driving between 81 and 85 miles per hour in a 65 miles per hour zone is punishable by an additional $100.
In Virginia, reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor, which carries a maximum jail term of one (1) year, a fine of no more than $2,500. Furthermore, driving penalties include driver’s license suspension for up to six (6) months, six (6) DMV points, and increased insurance rates.
The new laws announced by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles also state careless or distracted drivers who cause harm to a pedestrian, cyclist, skateboarder, e-scooter rider, or any other vulnerable road user will be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor. Motorists must also yield the right-of-way to any pedestrian who crosses a highway by stopping or staying stopped until the pedestrian has completely walked across the lane.
Reckless driving is unlike other traffic offenses since a conviction can result in serious criminal penalties. When facing reckless driving charges in Fairfax, Arlington, Alexandria, Loudoun, or Prince William County, The Law Office of Ann Thayer, PLLC can provide attentive and responsive legal representation to help you avoid conviction or serve harsh penalties. Attorney Ann Thayer has more than 15 years of experience helping our clients obtain the most favorable outcomes in their reckless driving cases.
If you or a loved one has been charged with reckless driving in Fairfax, contact our firm today at (703) 940-0001 and schedule a free case evaluation. Available 24/7 to provide immediate legal help!